Connect with us

Tennis

Sharapova knocked out of US Open

Published

on

Sharapova knocked out of US Open

Maria Sharapova was shocked at the US Open after she was beaten 6-3 6-4 by Carla Suarez Navarro on Monday.

Prior to her first Grand Slam meeting with Suarez Navarro, Sharapova who won the 2006 edition of the competition had never lost a night session match in New York.

38 unforced errors cost the Five-times Grand Slam champion, the price of which she paid and committed eight double faults while winning less than half of her first serve points.

Speaking with reporters after the match, the Russian said she didn’t take care of the chances that she had.

She added that she was reluctant to love forward to take care of balls that were a little bit shorter.

And for balls where she moved forward especially on the inside-out forehand, she admitted that she made unforced errors.

Under the floodlights at the Arthur Ashe, the Russian succumbed in one hour and 31 minutes, as her most potent weapon not failing her, and allowed the 30th seed Suarez Navarro to race to her record second career victory over the Russian in six attempts.

MORE: Federer Clarifies Retirement Joke

Suarez Navarro said her opponent is a good player and one of the best in the world, and she is delighted to beat one of the best.

Loading...
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tennis

Umpire suspended after Kyrgios pep talk at the US Open

Published

on

Umpire suspended after Kyrgios pep talk at the US Open

Umpire Mohamed Lahyani has been suspended from his next two scheduled tournaments after he was found trying to encourage Nick Kyrgios during a match at the US Open.

Lahyani climbed down from his chair in an unusual way and had a lengthy chat with the Kyrgios during his match against Pierre-Hugues Herbert in the second-round of the tournament.

Kyrgios was trailing by a set and 3-0 down and showing little effort, and the umpire was heard telling him he wanted to help him. I know this is not you, because you are great for tennis, said Lahyani.

Kyrgios later turned the match around and won the contest, and an annoyed Herbert claimed the umpire had overstepped the mark, sentiments which were condemned by the likes of Roger Federer.

US Open officials decided that, Lahyani could continue in the chair for the remainder of the tournament, even though he was found to have violated the rules, while stressing he should abide by proper protocols

However, governing body ATP has now confirmed Ina statement that Lahyani, one of the tour’s seven full-time umpire’s has been suspended and would not take part in the next two scheduled events in China Open to hold in Beijing and the Rolex Shanghai Masters, after it conducted its own internal review.

Loading...
Continue Reading

Tennis

Serena’s claims unjustified – Rusedski

Published

on

Serena’s claims unjustified – Rusedski

Serena Williams’ claim that she was a victim of sexism when she was defeated in the US Open final by Naomi Osaka are unjustified according to to Greg Rusedski.

Carlos Ramos was at the center of a storm in the sexism accusation over the way the experienced Portuguese official treated Williams at Flushing Meadows on Saturday’s defeat to Naomi Osaka.

In the important second set of the match, Williams was docked a game for calling the umpire Ramos a thief following the receipt of two code violations by her, and in the post match conference, she called her penalty sexist.

The WTA Tours chief executive Steve Simon and US great Billie Jean King, both questioned the initial code violation given to William for on-court coaching, in their support for the American superstar.

But Former British No 1 Rusedski has clear the air about his feelings on the incident. Speaking with Sky Sports, Rusedski said, Williams was going throughout the match, she therefore instead the umpire did the right thing, and due to what happened with Nick Kyrgios earlier in the tournament, she believed the referee was going to be very strong.

She added that all players were upset when umpire Mohamed Lahyani came down from his chair and gave Kyrgios a pep talk, so there going to be a strict officiating for the rest of the tournament, and that’s exactly what Ramos did throughout the match, according to Rusedski.

Loading...
Continue Reading

Tennis

Serena fined £13,156 for code violations

Published

on

Serena fined £13,156 for code violations

Serena Williams has been handed fine totalling £13,156 for three code violations during Saturday’s US Open final.

She was docked £7,739 by the tournament referee’s office for verbal abuse of chair umpire Carlos Ramos, £2,321 for breaking her racket and £3,095 for being warned for coaching.

The money was deducted from her prize money of £1.43m as she emerged the tournament’s runner-up. Williams was defeated by Naomi Osaka in Saturday’s final.

Initially, Williams received a code violation for coaching, was also penalized for calling umpire Ramos a thief, and handed a penalty point for racket abuse.

Williams, 36, insisted she didn’t received coaching, and saying right on court that she would rather lose than cheat, and in her post-match conference, she accusing Ramos of sexism.

Under Article III, Section P, Williams was found guilty and according to the section a player is subject to a fine up to £15,478.

Coaching comes in different categories in tennis. It’s any kind of communications, audible or visible, between a coach and a player may be regarded as coaching, and she was also charged for abuse of rackets or equipment.

Defeat dents Willaims’ hope to equal to 24 all-time Grand Slam titles of Margaret Court, but instead turn around to be Osaka becomes Japan’s first Grand Slam champion.

Loading...
Continue Reading

Trending

Skip to toolbar